Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

FLETA Board Grants Accreditation to Two ATF Programs

For Immediate Release

The Federal Law Enforcement Training Accreditation (FLETA) Board is pleased to announce it granted accreditation status to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), Agency Instructor Training Program and the Accelerant Detection Canine Handler Program at the November 5, 2020 meeting. 

The purpose of the Agency Instructor Training Program (AITP) is to provide students with a strong understanding of basic instructional concepts and well-rounded foundation of instructional skills needed to provide training to employees at all levels in the ATF organization. The program is eight instructional days and consists of 64 hours of instruction. 

The purpose of the Accelerant Detection Canine (ADC) Handler Program is to provide students with comprehensive courses on the ATF canine training methodologies and utilization of Accelerant Detection Canines for state, local, other Federal, and foreign law enforcement agencies. The program places canines with state and local agencies to support arson investigation activities. This program provides canines to protect the public, both in the United States and internationally. The program is 35 instructional days and consists of 240 hours of instruction. 

The FLETA Board is the accrediting body for all federal law enforcement training and support programs. To achieve accreditation, agencies submit to an independent review of their academy and/or program to ensure compliance with the FLETA standards and procedures in the areas of Academy/Program Administration, Training Staff, Training Development, and Training Delivery. Accreditation is a cyclical process occurring every five years. Each year, agencies must submit annual reports in preparation for reaccreditation, which is a new and independent review of the academy/program.