Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

FLETA Board Grants Accreditation to Two USAMPS Programs

For Immediate Release
U.S. Army Military Police School staff holding the FLETA accreditation certificate

The Federal Law Enforcement Training Accreditation (FLETA) Board is pleased to announce it granted accreditation status to the United States Army Military Police School (USAMPS) Military Working Dog (MWD) Handler, Phase 1 and reaccreditation status to the Military Police (MP) One Station Unit Training (OSUT) at the November 7, 2019 meeting in Glynco, GA.

The purpose of the MWD Handler, Phase 1 is to teach basic military police and military working dog Military Occupational Specialty specific technical and tactical training necessary to be successful in the 31K management field, in the operational environment of the United States Army. The MWD Handler, Phase 1 course is 42 instructional days and consists of 297 hours of instruction. The average number of students per iteration of the program is 24.

The purpose of the MP OSUT is to train and educate future Military Police professionals to sustain the core competencies of the Military Police Corps Regiment. Its mission is to provide the operational force with trained, combat-ready Military Police soldiers instilled with the Army values and ethics. The MP OSUT is 115 instructional days and consists of 876 hours of instruction. The number of students per iteration of the program is 200.

The FLETA Board is the accrediting body for all federal law enforcement training and support programs. To achieve accreditation, agencies submit to an independent review of their academy and/or program to ensure compliance with the FLETA Standards and Procedures in the areas of Program Administration, Training Staff, Training Development, Training Delivery, and Distance Learning. Accreditation is a cyclical process occurring every five years. Each year, agencies must submit annual reports in preparation for reaccreditation, which is a new and independent review of the academy/program.