Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

FLETA Board Grants Accreditation to the FMCSA NTC IDC

For Immediate Release

The Federal Law Enforcement Training Accreditation (FLETA) Board is pleased to announce it granted accreditation status to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) National Training Center (NTC) Instructor Development Course (IDC) at the November 5, 2020 meeting. 

The fundamental goal of the FMCSA is to reduce crashes, injuries, and fatalities involving large trucks and buses. The NTC serves as the national focal point for development and delivery of motor carrier safety training to enhance the capabilities of participating federal, state, and local government officials. The mission of the NTC is to provide high quality motor carrier safety and law enforcement training to its customers to assist them in achieving their goal.  

Presenters, Instructors, and Master Instructors are key personnel for ensuring NTC courses are delivered accurately and effectively. The NTC IDC is designed to ensure that individuals serving in these roles can do so effectively and consistently. The IDC provides students with the knowledge and critical thinking skills necessary to effectively and efficiently teach NTC courses. The program is 10 instructional days and consists of 80 hours of instruction. The average number of students per iteration of the program is 12. 

The FLETA Board is the accrediting body for all federal law enforcement training and support programs. To achieve accreditation, agencies submit to an independent review of their academy and/or program to ensure compliance with the FLETA standards and procedures in the areas of Academy/Program Administration, Training Staff, Training Development, and Training Delivery. Accreditation is a cyclical process occurring every five years. Each year, agencies must submit annual reports in preparation for reaccreditation, which is a new and independent review of the academy/program.