Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

FLETA Board Grants Reaccreditation to the USAF Academy and BSIC

For Immediate Release

FLETA Board Grants Reaccreditation to the USAF Academy and BSIC

The Federal Law Enforcement Training Accreditation (FLETA) Board is pleased to announce it granted reaccreditation status to the Department of the Air Force, United States Air Force Special Investigations Academy (AFSIA) and to the Basic Special Investigators Course (BSIC) at the April 21, 2022, meeting.

The mission of the AFSIA, an Air Force Specialty Code-awarding institution, accredited by the Community College of the Air Force and the Federal Law Enforcement Training Accreditation Board, is to provide in-residence and mobile training, blended and distance learning capabilities, and professional development to produce and enhance specialized investigative and counter-threat capabilities for the Department of the Air Force.

The BSIC is an entry level course designed to provide training in basic investigative skills and techniques. Students receive classroom instructions and participate in extensive practical exercises that further enhance their knowledge and skills. The BSIC is 33 instructional days and consists of 299 hours of instruction. The average number of students per iteration of the program is 48 per class/240 per year.

The FLETA Board is the accrediting body for all federal law enforcement training and support programs. To achieve accreditation, training organizations submit to an independent review of their program and/or academy to ensure compliance with the FLETA Standards and Procedures in the areas of Administration, Training Staff, Training Development, and Training Delivery. Accreditation is a cyclical process occurring every five years. Each year, training organizations must submit annual reports in preparation for reaccreditation, which is a new and independent review of the program/academy.