Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Rhonda Meehan and Trina Harrison Receive FLETA Team Leader Recognition Award

For Immediate Release
(pictured left to right) James Ward, Rhonda Meehan, Trina Harrison, and Joe Collins

The Federal Law Enforcement Training Accreditation (FLETA) Board is pleased to announce Ms. Rhonda Meehan and Ms. Trina Harrison as the 2019 recipients of the FLETA Team Leader Recognition Award. FLETA Board Chair, Dr. James Ward, presented the Team Leader Recognition Award to Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison during the FLETA Board meeting on November 7, 2019 in Glynco, GA.

“On behalf of the FLETA Board, I am pleased to recognize Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison for this distinguished award,” stated Dr. Ward. “Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison are highly respected among the FLETA community and demonstrate their professionalism and excellence in everything they do whether serving as a team leader, assessor, or self-assessor.”

Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison have been involved with the FLETA process in various roles for many years. Ms. Meehan currently serves as an Accreditation Manager for the Defense Counterintelligence and Security Agency (DCSA), while Ms. Harrison currently serves as the Training and Talent Development Analyst for the U.S. Postal Service Office of Inspector General.

Both, Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison have served on numerous assessments and self-assessments, both as assessors and team leaders. In addition, to serving as a team leader and assessor on FLETA assessments, Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison provide direct and in-direct support to other federal law enforcement agencies as a source of expertise conducting self-assessments.

Mr. Joseph Collins, Executive Director for the FLETA Office of Accreditation, congratulated Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison on the award. Mr. Collins stated, “Team leaders, like Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison are the critical link between the FLETA Board and the assessment teams. I have had the honor of working with both individuals and their dedication to the FLETA process sets the standard for all team leaders and assessors. We would not have a FLETA process without the hard work and dedication of Ms. Meehan and Ms. Harrison, and their fellow team leaders and assessors.” 

The FLETA Team Leader Recognition Award recognizes individuals who have contributed significantly or demonstrated exceptional commitment while serving in a team leader capacity during the FLETA accreditation process. The team leader has successfully demonstrated an effective and innovative approach associated with obtaining the highest quality of federal law enforcement training. The FLETA Team Leader Recognition Award is intended as an individual annual award; however, the Board may consider multiple candidates.


The FLETA Board is the accrediting body for all federal law enforcement training and support programs. To achieve accreditation, agencies submit to an independent review of their academy and/or program to ensure compliance with the FLETA Standards and Procedures in the areas of Administration, Training Staff, Training Development, Training Delivery, and Distance Learning. Accreditation is a cyclical process occurring every five years. Each year, agencies must submit annual reports in preparation for reaccreditation, which is a new and independent review of the academy/program.